Chocolate Cupcakes


A while ago, a friend of mine gave me a few recipes that she got from her Uncle Merv. One recipe was for chocolate cupcakes. My friend raved about these cupcakes and I was surprised to find, when I made them, that they were made with no eggs or milk – totally vegan. So incredibly easy and very delicious.

I’ve made these cupcakes many times, but I’ve added a couple of ingredients to suit my tastes. I’ve included a little salt, upped the cocoa, and splashed in some vanilla. Additionally, for an even richer chocolate taste, you can mix in some coffee with the water.

Uncle Merv frosts his cupcakes by dipping them in a warm chocolate ganache (I’ve seen Ina Garten do this, too). They are very decadent when prepared that way. This time, I frosted the cupcakes with 7 minute frosting which is made with granulated sugar and egg-whites. It is a marshmallow-y type of concoction that reminds me of my great-aunt’s christmas tree cake. I also sprinkled on some colorful non-pareils. The resulting cupcake looked almost like a soft-serve ice cream cone. I think coconut would be a great topping for this frosting, but L doesn’t like coconut.

L and J were “in heaven” when they tasted the frosting. Is there anything better than licking frosting from a beater?

Chocolate Cupcakes
adapted from Merv’s Baking Class

makes 12 cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1 cup water (or 1/2 cup water mixed with 1/2 cup coffee)
1/3 cup vegetable oil (corn or canola)
1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tins with muffin papers or spray tin with non-stick spray.

Sift dry ingredients together into a large bowl. Combine all liquids in a bowl, then add to the dry ingredients. Whisk the ingredients together until well combined. A few small lumps are o.k. Do not overmix.

Fill prepared muffin tins to 3/4 full (an ice cream scoop works well for this).

Bake in preheated oven (350 degrees) until the center of the cupcakes springs back when lightly touched, or a toothpick tester comes out without batter, about 16-20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. I have a reasonably similar recipe but I have to let it stand overnight in the refrigerator and the mixture thickens on standing. It is very runny when first made. What is the consistency of this mixture?

  2. The batter is a little thin, but not as thin as, say, the Hershey’s Cocoa Cake batter. The cupcakes come out perfectly domed. Take a look at the Chocolate Zucchini Muffins, they look similar to that when they come out of the oven. Those can be used as cupcakes, too.

Leave a Reply

