A Turkey Burger Success!

Turkey Burger Dinner
The last time I tried turkey burgers, I had a total flop of a dinner. I was determined to try again, knowing so many people that love turkey burgers.

In my paring down of the piles of cooking magazines, I ripped a page out of Bon Appetit, from August 2008. Just one year ago. The recipe is called “Turkey Burgers with Tomato Jam, Olives and Feta”. I don’t know whether it would have sparked my interest, normally, but I read through the recipe and the combination of ingredients appealed to me. The recipe says that it is also good made with ground lamb, which I love. Rrrrrrip, in the “keep to try” pile.

The tomato jam wasn’t really a jam. It was a thick sauce. The flavor, when I stuck to the original recipe was a little dull and, well, not very jammy. So, I added more sugar and some crushed red pepper – sweet and heat. I was pretty happy with the result, but not crazy about the texture. I may fiddle with this one, because it was a good complement to the burgers. I think maybe I should puree the “jam” or make it with crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes. Hmmm.

The turkey burgers themselves were juicy and delicious. I followed the recipe, with the exception of a couple of items, and served the burgers on home-made wheat rolls (made with the last of the 5 minute bread dough). I can’t tell you how much a good roll can transform a burger. S, as usual, grilled the burgers to perfection and toasted the rolls, too.

Raw Turkey BurgerWheat Rolls

And, on the same page as the burgers, with the recommendation to serve them together, was a recipe for Oven Fries with Coriander Seeds. I skipped the coriander seeds, since I didn’t have them in the house, and cooked the fries more quickly using the “convection roast” setting on my oven. They were crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside – a great, if a little bit decadent, accompaniment to the burgers.

With the Vietnamese Chicken Salad from Monday night, two winners in a row.

Turkey Burgers with Tomato Jam, Olives and Feta
adapted from from Bon Appetit

serves 4

1 lb. ground turkey
2/3 c. finely chopped red onion
1/3 c. crumbled feta cheese, plus additional for topping
2 Tbsp. coarsely chopped pitted Kalamata olives
1 1/2 tsp. olive oil plus additional for brushing
1 garlic clove, pressed
1/2 tsp. chopped fresh rosemary
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
4 crusty rolls, halved horizontally
Tomato Jam

Gently mix turkey, onion, 1/3 cup feta, 3 tablespoons chopped olives, 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil, garlic, rosemary, salt and pepper in medium bowl. Form into 4 patties, each about 1 inch thick.

Grill burgers until well browned with grill marks on both sides and cooked through, about 5 minutes per side. Grill cut side of rolls until toasted.

Serve burgers with tomato jam (below), and additional feta, if desired.

Tomato Jam
adapted from Bon Appetit

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 c. finely chopped onion
1 garlic clove, pressed
1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes in juice
2 1/2 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/8 – 1/4 tsp. crushed red chile pepper

Heat oil in medium saucepan over medium heat. Add chopped onion and garlic; cook until onion is soft and translucent, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Add diced tomatoes with juice, sugar, thyme, salt, black pepper and red chile pepper. Cook over medium-high heat until almost all liquid evaporates and mixture is reduced to about 2 1/4 cups, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

This recipe can be made ahead of time and refrigerated. Warm to serve.

Oven-Baked Herb Fries

serves 4

2 large russet potatoes
1 1/2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp. dried herbes-de-provence
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees – convection or convection roast setting.

Scrub potatoes, then dry them and cut into fries by slicing each potato, lengthwise, into 3/8-inch planks and cutting each of those, legthwise, into fries about 3/8-inch wide. Put all of the fries into a bowl and toss with the olive oil and herbes-de-provence.

Spray a large, rimmed baking sheet with canola oil spray. Spread the fries onto the baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for about 25-30 minutes, until they are golden brown and crisp on the outside.

Remove from the oven and season with salt and pepper, if desired. Serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “A Turkey Burger Success!

  1. thanks for the recipe — you know how I love my new BBQ..; or maybe you don’t, but I LOVE it… and need good recipes!

  2. My god, making your own buns! I’m so impressed. This looks delicious. I’ve noticed that the types of food you guys eat is definitely different then when the girls are in town–more vegetables and different spicing/cuisine. Sounds like you and S are really having a good time!

  3. Suzanne-I just found this in my “save to read later” emails and saw the turkey burgers. They look geat and I must say the fries got my attention… re your comment about the toatoes being bland: have you used San Marzano canned tomatoes? Marcella Hazan recommends them for all her recipes and I don’t use anything else anymore! They are always very sweet and soft. I’ve tried using others but with not as satisfying results…I use Italbrand San Marzano Peeled Whole Tomatoes which I either dice or just crush in my hand. Draeger’s carries them and I’ve seen them at Whole Foods.
    Love the blog and can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

