When in the course of human events

it becomes necessary to have a huge dinner in honor of the liberties we now posess, which are a direct consequence of the struggles of our forbears…. Having just been to Washington, D.C. and to Mt. Vernon, in Virginia, I am all the more appreciative of the hardships that were suffered (and are being suffered) so that I can enjoy this day. This is truly a great country and you feel it all the more when you are able to walk right in to your Representative’s office or go have breakfast with your Senator (Dianne Feinstein hosts a constituent breakfast, weekly!).

Here’s the menu for 4th of July, 2009. We are being joined by our great friends JS and JO. Who will be bringing the hors d’oeuvres. There will be happiness pursued at our house today!

Deviled Eggs
Melon and Proscuitto
Watermelon and Tomato Gazpacho
Fresh Baked Wheat Bread
Grilled Boneless Pork Chops
Beets and Beet Greens
Berry Tart

I thought that I’d try the gazpacho recipe that my parents told me about. My sister-in-law, AB, made it for them and generously shared the recipe with me. It is from a book by Tyler Florence and the recipe is on the web in lots of places. One can be found here (look under soups) and another can be found here.

Both of the recipes in the links above are by Tyler Florence and they are completely different from eachother with respect to quantities. Also, they are both completely different from the recipe that AB gave me! I’m going to make her recipe as it seems tried and true.

I’ll report back with reviews and photos of the new recipes.

Leave a Reply

