Kitchen Sink Salad

Quinoa Corn Salad
With just the two of us at home, I haven’t had to do much grocery shopping and I don’t want to over buy and waste food.

I happened to have a few ears of cooked corn left from our dinner party on Sunday night and we had some leftover meat and fish, that we brought home from a restaurant, from Tuesday night. So, last night I thought, how can I use this stuff up and how can I make something pretty healthy and delicious?

I took stock of the ingredients that I had on hand: lots of vegetables including the corn, sugar snap peas, carrots, celery, cucumber, and yellow pepper, cabbage, fennel, basil, among others. And, in the pantry: red quinoa, regular quinoa, rice, couscous, pasta. Plus, there was a half lemon sitting on the countertop, waiting to be used.

I definitely wanted to use the corn and I thought the red quinoa would be a good contrasting color and complementary flavor.

The salad that I made was, surprisingly, a winner. Lots of flavor, color and crunch. Very, very healthful. Last night we had it with the leftover meats – S had seared ahi tuna the previous night and I’d had filet of beef. We shared both, over the salad. For lunch today, S & I had some leftover grilled chicken (in the freezer for the girls’ lunch sandwiches!) over the salad.

I think this dish would be good with the addition of tomatoes, wilted spinach, some feta cheese, more herbs. I just used what I had in the house! Using the nutrition calculator that I noted in a previous post, this came out with about 330 calories and 10.5 grams of fiber.

Kitchen Sink Salad
serves 4

3/4 cup red quinoa (or regular) cooked in 1 1/4 cups vegetable broth
3 ears corn, cooked and removed from cob
1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
2 large ribs celery, chopped
1/2 yellow pepper, seeded and chopped
1 cup sugar snap peas, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1/2 english cucumber, peeled and chopped
3 scallions, white plus 2/3 of green part, chopped
1/4 cup thinly sliced basil leaves
1-2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice from 1/2 lemon
2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Stir well. Add salt and pepper to taste.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Salad

  1. This reminds me of a salad that I had at a friend’s house. Hers was a rendition of Starbuck’s salad that is no longer available. I love making it with whatever is in the refrigerator especially leftover roasted chicken. But wouldn’t it be good with leftover pork loin! Here goes: cumin, cilantro (always there), roasted corn (if not fresh, Trader Joe’s frozen, canned black beans, roasted peppers, purple onion, leftover roasted chicken, avocado. All you use to meld it together is a oil/white wine vinegar and mustard, garlic dressing. It totally rocks!
    By the way, if you have a lot of leftovers and want to do something different try making enchildas. They work well with most ingredients. Mollie Stone’s has a great enchilada sauce and you can get a verde sauce to have on hand. Yum!

Leave a Reply

