Menu for the Week

Maybe it is the weather (not quite summery), maybe it is the time of year (last week of school), maybe it is the fact that we are going away soon and I haven’t quite gotten back into a groove. But, I’m not in the mood to cook and I’m having a little inertia around it.

So, after I dropped off the girls’ camp duffles at UPS for their cross country journey, I drove to the grocery store and sat in the car, NPR on the radio, and hoped for some inspiration. Interesting piece on the Terry Gross program about Satchel Paige, but no thunderbolts of cooking ideas.

Here’s what I came up with, but it is subject to change. I only bought groceries for tonight, so I’m not committed to anything beyond. I wasn’t sure about what we already had in the fridge beyond lots of berries from the farmers market, and some english peas (but the girls like those for a snack). I want to take inventory (at least mentally) before doing the big weekday marketing. I know I bought a piece of lemongrass, but I can’t remember where the recipe is that I want to make. I’ll have to do a little investigating.

Here is the flexible plan:

Monday: Pasta with Broccoli and Sausage
Tuesday: Tomato Soup with Bread (new recipe) and Salad
Wednesday: Ribs, Potato Salad, Green Bean Salad
Thursday: Grilled Chicken, Veggies, Hummus, Pita
Friday: Leftover Delight (or go out to celebrate the end of school)

I bought a new cookbook that I’m excited about called Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois. I’m looking forward to trying some new recipes. And, I have a post queued up from last week that I’ll post as soon as I upload the pictures.

With any luck, I’ll be back to my usual self soon.

Leave a Reply

