Menu for the Week

Normalcy returns.

The girls go back to school tomorrow. Even though it is Monday, it feels like Sunday. We do errands today and no museums or aquariums. It is strange how fast a week flies by, even at home. I’ll be happy to get back to a routine.

I’m also happy to get back to figuring out our menu for the week, because that makes my grocery shopping easier and less frequent.

I’m coming to the realization that there will be some repeats in the very near future. In those cases, I’ll link back to any recipes that are in the blog. My goal is to try something new at least once or twice per week.

Here goes for this week:
Monday: Left-over delight night
Tuesday: Artichoke soup with panini sandwiches
Wednesday: Steak, broccoli, Israeli Couscous, salad
Thursday: Petrale Sole, string beans, roasted cherry tomatoes, steamed potatoes Space, the final frontier. I forgot, I’m going to Carmel with J to visit one of her camp friends. S&L will fend for themselves!
Friday: Roasted Chicken, mashed sweet potatoes, cauliflower, snap peas

As a family, we have a lot of fun and busy times coming in the near future. We have aunts, uncles, and cousins coming to visit for Grandma’s 80th birthday. We have both a dessert/coffee and a brunch at our house during that time, plus the usual dinners. Cooking is going to be fast and furious here at 44dinner. I’m going to do a lot of baking ahead and freezing. We have been looking forward to these visits for a long time.

Yesterday, I made chocolate chip cookie dough and froze uncooked scoops (“pucks”) so that they will be fresh baked for our dessert night. I also made and froze some blondies. I’ll make and freeze lemon squares this week. I’ll also bake a coffee cake for the brunch, and freeze that. If I don’t have time, so be it. Not everything needs to be home-made!

Leave a Reply

