Jellyfish & Seahorses

jellies-at-pier-39
Have you ever eaten jellyfish? I have. It doesn’t taste like chicken.

In fact, it doesn’t even taste like much of anything. Jellyfish is sort of crunchy and chewy, but not as chewy as overcooked squid. It takes on the taste of the sauce in which it is served or cooked. It is something that I really don’t plan to eat again, but if I do, I’ll try not to think of the long stinging tentacles.

red-and-white-jelly
I won’t ever eat a seahorse. At least, I don’t think I will. Never say never.

The absolute coolest thing we saw at the Monterey Bay Aquarium was the new sea horse exhibit. The leafy sea dragon was quite simply amazing. I can’t imagine seeing one in the wild. It is so cleverly camouflaged. Seahorses look like they are not actually real. But, they are. And, they are in danger.

leafy-sea-dragon

Here is what I’ve learned this staycation: we are killing our oceans. Aquariums can be many things: fascinating, exciting, beautiful. And, depressing. Scary, scary stuff. I may only have recipes for Alaskan wild salmon, Alaskan halibut, farmed tilapia, farmed rainbow trout and farmed mussels/clams/oysters, in the future. I’ll be checking the Monterey Bay Aquarium’s website before I buy seafood to find it if is on the “watch list”. And, I’ll ask for origins, too.

seahorse

2 thoughts on “Jellyfish & Seahorses

  1. Hi there!

    I have never had the pleasure of eating a jelly fish, I don’t think I could.

    Nice to see you in the blogshere!

    CIAO!

  2. OMG! I love the monterrey bay aquarium! did you see the sunfish! that’s my fave! 😀 cu 4 gram’s bday

Leave a Reply

