Not Manly Enough

Farro Prep

I think I’ve figured out a couple of things after charring the boneless pork chops tonight.

1) S is a much better grill cook than I. He babysits his meats and vegetables on the grill and makes sure that everything that comes off of it is cooked to perfection.

2) I always wondered why grills were sold with side burners. Now I know. It is hard to babysit the grill when the sides are inside on the stove.

3) Maybe men are so great at grilling because they are not making sure that everything else is ready as soon as the grilling is complete? Yeah, yeah, I know, that sounds sexist. Oh, well.

I asked S’s advice for cooking the meat and thought that I followed his directions. But, I took the directions as gospel (when they were only guidelines) and I didn’t keep checking the meat. I just turned the grill heat down to medium, let the meat sear for 5 minutes on one side, turned it, 5 minutes on the other side, turned it again….well, it was probably done already. Probably should have done the first turn after 3 minutes, etc. No trichonosis at our house tonight!

I guess I’ll learn at some point, but I think I’d rather have S do the grilling – unless we get a grill with side burners.

The farro turned out well, though. Farro is a grain that is similar to wheat. It looks a little like a large, darker pearled barley and it can be cooked like a risotto. In Italy, we had it in a soup with peas and asparagus. That soup was memorably delicious.

Farro Risotto
serves 4

1 cup Farro (semi-pearled)
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1 Tbsp. olive oil
5 sundried tomatoes, chopped (optional)
2 1/2 cups chicken broth, heated
1/4 cup grated parmesan
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and saute for about 5 minutes until the onion is beginning to brown and is fragrant. Add the farro and sundried tomatoes, and stir to combine them with the onions and the olive oil. Slowly pour in about half of the chicken broth. Bring to a boil and turn the heat down to a simmer. Stir frequently. When the liquid is just below the level of the grain, add more broth to cover the farro. Continue stirring and adding the liquid in this manner until the grains are barely cooked through (al dente). This should take about 20 minutes. Then, cook a little longer so that most (but not all) of the liquid is absorbed. Add the parmesan and about 1/4 tsp. of freshly ground black pepper. Taste and add additional pepper and salt as desired.

3 thoughts on “Not Manly Enough

  1. what a coincidence…i just made barley risotto tonight! i’ve never made it before, but it was great. i made it with shitake mushrooms, shallots, garlic, white wine & chicken broth. new york “s” gave it the thumbs up! Maybe I’ll try farro next time.
    xoxo

  2. Had the opposite experience tonight. With S and J out of town, I took over cooking. I made boneless pork chops, broccoli, and artichokes. I was too focused on grilling the pork chops and overcooked the broccoli. But then, I’d rather have well-grilled pork chops and overcooked broccoli than the other way around. L agreed. We also agreed that 2 for dinner at home is not as fun as 4.

Leave a Reply

