Menu for the Week

Here is the current plan – subject to change as my whim may take over and I’m not feeling very organized. That old inertia kicking in.

I didn’t have much self control at the farmer’s market on Saturday and we have a lot of vegetables to polish off this week, so they may take center stage. We’ll have at least two vegetables for each meal. No complaints from me and S, in that regard.

I’m going to scour some of my old cooking magazines and cookbooks, and recipes that I’ve cut out over the years to get some new life in our meals. Otherwise, I’m going to cook some dishes that have been on the site before. After 2 1/2 months of very few repeats (in terms of main dish), it is getting to be that time. Tonight will be one of the repeats, but it is a favorite, and the weather is nice for grilling outdoors.

I also loaded up on fruits today – so that, as usual, is the dessert plan.

Monday – Grilled Boneless Pork Chops, steamed asparagus, sauteed kale with olive oil and garlic, farro
Tuesday – I’m out at a Mom’s Night Out. J has been asking for Chinese take-out – this could be the night!
Wednesday – Salmon (Halibut for J), beets & beet tops, cauliflower, quinoa (leftover farro for L&J)
Thursday – Roasted Chicken with roasted potatoes, onions, carrots and fennel.
Friday – Birthday dinner for W (Grandma’s husband) – Paella, big salad, birthday cake (TBD, but chocolate will be involved)

Spring break starts at the close of school on Friday. We are having a “stay-cation” because L will still be on crutches, so I’m hoping to cook some good meals and have the girls help out. We’ll also be going out a bunch, having friends over to dinner/brunch, etc. We’ll celebrate Passover at a friends’ house (the first time in years that I won’t be having a seder at home). It will be like one very long weekend. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

