Tuesday Dinner

honey-glazed-chicken
I used to have a subscription to Everyday Food magazine, which is published by Martha Stewart. The recipes are really accessible and usually very easy. I stopped getting the magazine because I have so many issues and recipes that I’ve never tried, that I figured I should stick with the copies I have before getting any new editions. I may renew my subscription at some point, but for now, I’m satisfied with flipping through the old magazines. The girls like to look through them, too, and choose recipes for me to try.

The recipe for the chicken that I made tonight is from one of those old magazines. I’ve made it several times, and it never fails to bring some silence at the table as everyone digs into the moist mahogany chicken. Here is the link to the Easy Honey Glazed Chicken from Everyday Food. It isn’t too sweet, even with the honey. I think that much of the honey gets left in the pan, but what stays on gives a deep dark sheen to the chicken skin. The fact that the chicken is in pieces and is cooked at 475 makes for a very quick prep.

glazing-chicken

The last time that I made zucchini, J really made quite a face and said that she wouldn’t eat it (even though she tried). She was disappointed because it wasn’t like Daddy’s squash that he made and she loved. Daddy’s squash?! He made it once, last fall when I was away for a night or two. Sheesh. I tried to recreate “Daddy’s Yellow Squash” tonight, and was successful. The recipe is below.

squash-with-tomatoes

Our school had an RD come to speak to parents last week about healthy eating. I was not able to attend, but one of the tricks that I did hear about was to imagine your plate cut into quarters. Two quarters should be vegetables/fruits, one quarter whole grains and one quarter protein. Note, I tried to make my plate look like that (S’s plate, too). L doesn’t like brown rice, so she skipped that and had both vegetables. J took a picture of her plate, where she arranged the rice just so.

J's Dinner Plate

J's Dinner Plate

My Plate

My Plate

Daddy’s Yellow Squash
serves 4, generously

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1/2 medium onion, chopped
5 crook-necked yellow squash
1 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes
salt & pepper to taste

Trim squash top and bottom. Slice in half length-wise, then in 1/2 inch pieces cross-wise (1/2 moons). Slice cherry tomatoes in half.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet (12-inch). Saute onions in olive oil, over medium high heat, until they are beginning to color, about 5 minutes. Add the squash and saute, stirring occasionally, until beginning to brown. Add tomatoes and continue to cook until the squash is soft and the tomatoes are losing their skins. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

