I Heart Artichokes

Artichoke Prep
And, I love the internet.

I just typed in my search box, “artichoke why they taste so good”. Here is one of the first sites that I came upon: Good Life Garden. This is a site from UC Davis and has a brief history of the artichoke and some interesting information for gardening and cooking….and why they taste so good. It also has a link to recipes – the first one I clicked was for Shaved Fennel, Artichoke and Parmesan Salad, by Alice Waters. I am definitely going to have to try the salad recipe (perhaps for a dinner party).

ArtichokesArtichokes in Pot

Tonight, I cooked my artichokes pretty simply – I just trimmed them and steamed them. The girls like theirs dipped in melted butter. I LOVE mine dipped in melted butter, but I don’t eat them that way anymore because it isn’t the healthiest thing to do. So, I eat mine straight up and sneak a little of J’s butter for the heart.

According to the UC Davis site, we had 25% of our RDA for fiber and vitamin C by eating our artichokes tonight. Combined with the easy roasted tomatoes from Everyday Food, that probably brought us up quite a bit higher. I understand that the lycopene in tomatoes is released by cooking them with olive oil – can’t remember where I read that. So, I drizzled that on the tomatoes before roasting them. And, I made my usual grilled chicken (plus some extra to be used for sandwiches during the week).

Roasted TomatoesHealthy Dinner

Tonight’s dinner definitely scored points in the health column. After the food-fest this weekend, we needed a heart healthy dinner.

Leave a Reply

