Yogurt and Mustard Chicken

Yogurt Marinade
One of the easiest and most delicious chicken dishes that I make is based on a recipe in one of my favorite cookbooks.

Lee Bailey’s Good Parties has incredible photographs, delicious recipes, elegant ideas and great party giving advice. Many of the recipes are a little dated (or are they just Southern style?), but some are timeless. I have made Yogurt-Green Peppercorn Mustard Chicken many times, but now add other flavorings to the yogurt. What is good about this recipe is its technique and the way the chicken becomes tender and juicy because of the way the acidity of the yogurt reacts with the meat. L really HATES yogurt, but is totally fine with it on the chicken. There is no residual taste or texture of the yogurt.
Chicken SlatheredKale Prep
In fact, you can use the cooking technique, below, without a yogurt slather, if you just want a very simple baked chicken.

The technique is basically this: take a whole cut up chicken (or the parts you like), slather the chicken with a mixture of yogurt and flavorings. Put it in a pan. Cook it at 375 for a little over 1/2 hour(or so). Turn off the oven and leave the oven door closed (no peeking) for another hour. Your chicken is ready. Great flavor. Crisp skin. Ridiculously easy.
Potatoes

Lee Bailey would no doubt be embarrassed by my photography, but looks are deceiving. All of us love this chicken.
Yogurt-Mustard Chicken
Here’s how I made mine for tonight.

Yogurt and Mustard Chicken with Honey and Herbs
Adapted from Good Parties, by Lee Bailey

serves 4-6

1 whole chicken, cut into 8 pieces
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2 Tbsp. dijon mustard
1 Tbsp. honey
1/2 tsp. herbes de provence
1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
1/2 tsp. kosher salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine yogurt, mustard, honey, herbes, pepper and salt in a small bowl. Line a 13 X 9 inch pan with foil (or just spray the pan with cooking spray). Arrange chicken in the pan skin side down. Coat chicken with 1/2 of the yogurt mixture. Turn the chicken skin side up. Coat with the remaining yogurt mixture.

Bake chicken in the preheated oven for 35 minutes. Turn the oven off (this is easy to do if you have an oven that has a “cook time” mode – the oven will turn itself off!). Do not open the door. Keep the chicken in the oven without opening the oven door for another hour, or longer.

Serve with whatever suits your fancy. We had it with potatoes, sweet potatoes and sauteed kale.

9 thoughts on “Yogurt and Mustard Chicken

  1. I love your websight Suzanne and have printed out the chicken with yogurt. Will give it a try.

  2. So glad you like it! Mom said you were going to try the frogs legs chicken. Let me know how it goes. XOX.

  3. Hey! Love the blog! Can’t wait to see you guys for gramma’s bday.
    Luv ya!
    Ps. say hi to L and J for me

  4. Can’t wait to see you, too! I’ll have to blog the weekend’s food in April. Maybe you can help?

  5. That’d be awesome! I can put my 4 weeks of cooking school to work!
    Ps, I’ll bring my camera. I can take pictures too!
    pps, say happy almost bday to L 4me

  6. I made this for dinner last night but I must admit that I haven’t had herbes de province in the house in ages. But it was Sunday evening so I improvised and used thyme and a little bit of parsley. It was delicious. And I love that it can sit in the oven – will make it again on a busy baseball night.

Leave a Reply

