Pork Tenderloin

Butternut SquashPork TenderloinPork Tenderloin DinnerL suggested that we have pork tenderloin for dinner on Thursday night. Yes, sounds good, not too fatty, quick cooking. Good idea. But how to make it. The last couple of times that I made pork tenderloin (how long ago, I don’t remember) were completely uninspiring. When L & I decided on pork tenderloin for Thursday night, we also decided on the sides: mashed butternut squash and steamed broccoli. There was some broccoflower at the market, so I substituted that.

So, I did a little searching on the web, in the usual places. I didn’t see anything that looked weeknight-friendly on Epicurious.com. Then I tried foodnetwork.com and did my usual search methodology: type in the food variety (in this case, pork tenderloin) and then sort the results by rating.

I chose the Charlie Palmer recipe: Marinated Grilled Pork Tenderloin. It was given 5 stars and after reading the reviews, I thought it would be a winner. Happily, I wasn’t disappointed. I threw together the marinade (I didn’t use exact measurements, too much of a pain, and added only 1/2 of the oil called for) and put it in a zipper bag with the tenderloins a few hours before they were going to be cooked (and when I was home and had time). Then, a couple of hours before cooking, I took them out of the refrigerator. S did the grilling.

This was a serious hit. L & J scarfed down every bite. Flavorful, tender, not in the least bit bland. The marinade, which is reduced to a sauce, was what made the meat a winner. Definitely will add this to my repetoire and I would serve this for guests any time. I wonder whether the marinade would work well with chicken. I would imagine it would be great.

Leave a Reply

