Caramel Corn

Caramel Corn
How does it happen that my children always want to cook on play dates? One wonders….

Today, J had an impromptu date with a friend and said, “Mommy, can we cook something? How about muffins?”

I said, “Sure, we can bring them for snack for L when we pick her up, and for your friend’s sisters, too.”

Muffins became caramel corn. My arm, and my resolve, is so easily twisted. And, that is why I have a lot of cavities.

We used the recipe on David Lebovitz’s site. I made it with L when she had a friend over a couple of months ago, and it came out very well except we didn’t have enough corn syrup and substituted honey. The flavor was good, but I think my thermometer is a little off and the syrup got a little too, well, caramelized and a little burnt.

This time, I had all the right ingredients and we made it according to specifications. We used 1 cup organic brown sugar and 1/2 cup organic granulated sugar (had to combat the corn syrup somehow). Also, the kids dumped all of the candy ingredients (save the extract and baking soda) into the pot – no matter, it worked just fine. It turned out perfectly – golden, crunchy, sweet, buttery. Thick with caramel.

This caramel corn is positively addictive. I mean it will have to be put out of sight by someone else so that I have no idea where it is. Help.

Leave a Reply

