Baked Out

blueberry muffins
This has truly been a week of cooking. I’m usually not this busy, but, boy this has been a week. The teacher snack – o.k., I could have bought everything, but that is just not my style. No one cares but me. If there are cookies, do they need to be home made to be enjoyed? Probably not. A plate of Oreos goes as quickly as a plate of home baked treats. And, don’t get me wrong, I’d be the first to grab an Oreo. But, I like feeling that I know what is going into the food I eat, and the food I serve.

And, that brings me to the bake sale. Yes, I signed up to be a school baker. Unfortunately, not many other people signed up for this incredible opportunity. This week, the student council decided on muffins for its monthly bake sale. I suggested blueberry. Then, I found out that the baked goods have to conform to some California guidelines for nutrition. I rose to the challenge and calculated the nutritional content of my recipe – it was close, I think, to the guidelines (I did a little back of the envelope calculation – really, I’m a glutton for punishment). This time, I only had to make 3 dozen. Last time it was muffins, I made 100 pumpkin muffins. Good thing I didn’t know about the nutritional guidelines for that one!

Then, L had a friend over to play, and we made Snickerdoodles.

Suzanne’s Blueberry Muffins

Makes 12

1 ¾ cups flour
½ cup sugar plus 1 tbsp. for sprinkling
2 ½ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. cinnamon
1 egg
1/3 cup cooking oil
½ cup orange juice
¼ cup milk
¾ cup frozen blueberries (or fresh)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Put paper baking cups into muffin tins, or grease the tins..

Sift together the flour, ½ cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon into a bowl. In a separate small bowl, whisk the egg together with the oil, then add the orange juice and milk. Pour into the bowl with the sifted dry ingredients and just until combined. Fold in the blueberries.

Spoon batter into muffin tins. Sprinkle about ¼ tsp. of sugar over each muffin.

Bake at 400°F for approximately 20-25 minutes, until golden brown.

Nutritional information (by no means completely accurate….I used the info in the Joy of Cooking for my calculations):
Total Calories per muffin 168.94
Sugar as a percent of calories 21.48
Fat as a percent of calories 37.01
Sat Fat as a percent of calories 3.89
….A little too much fat for California. They want no more than 35%….so take a couple of teaspoons out and your home baked muffins will conform to California standards for school treats.

One thought on “Baked Out

  1. Pingback: Frenzy and Family « Four for Dinner

Leave a Reply

