Down to my last jar…

I made a pasta sauce with my second to last jar of early girl tomatoes that I canned with my friends over the summer. It was so good, you could eat it alone – and I mean all alone, as in from the pot, with no one in the kitchen, using a dishtowel to wipe your chin. But, I didn’t. I shared.

I took out some of the sauce before cooking the shrimp in it, because J doesn’t like shrimp. L, on the other hand, loves it and was quite happy with her dinner. As were S & me.
tomato saucespicy shrimp tomato pasta

Spicy Tomato Sauce with Jumbo Shrimp

1 onion, sliced thinly
1 carrot, shredded on the large holes of a grater
1 clove garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1 28 oz. jar italian plum tomatoes, with basil, preferably organic
1/2 tsp. dried oregano, crushed in your palm
1/2 tsp. dried basil, crushed in your palm
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper

1 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined

Saute onion, carrot and garlic in olive oil, in a large saute pan, until translucent and beginning to color. Add tomatoes, crushing them with your fingers as you add them to the pan. Stir and then add the seasonings. Simmer, uncovered, over low/medium heat, stirring frequently, for about 20 minutes.

Add shrimp to the pan and continue to simmer, turning shrimp after about 3 minutes, until the shrimp are cooked through (a total of 5-6 minutes, or so, depending on the size of the shrimp). The shrimp will be pink and fully opaque. Do not over cook.

Serve over spaghetti.

Leave a Reply

