Cassoulet, Tres Bon!

The “Quick Cassoulet” was delicious and healthy, though J picked out the meat and declared that she didn’t like her meal all mixed together. “I don’t like Casseroles”. We said, what about lasagne? “That’s not the same.”

S, L and I, on the otherhand, had no problems with the casserole. I didn’t have time to make a salad, because I decided, for no particular reason, that I absolutely had to start cooking for my teacher “snack” on Wednesday. Silly, really, but I’m glad that I got the tabouleh salad done. Nonetheless, a green salad would have made tonight’s meal complete and the crunch would have gone very well with the velvety beans.

As I continue to write this blog, I will need to remember to take pictures. I am not used to photographing my meals, or their preparation. I’ll get there.

Here is a link to the cassoulet recipe. I used some leftover grilled chicken that I had frozen for the cooked chicken in the recipe, and I used Aidell’s Organic Andouille Sausage for the sausage. The grilled chicken added a nice element to the flavor. For the bread crumbs, I used Panko, which I had in the pantry. The seasonings, as called for in the recipe were just right, for us. Also, I added Great Northern Beans for the “small white beans” called for in the recipe.

Then, because I am a glutton for punishment (well, a glutton anyway), I made the biscotti for Wednesday. I haven’t made biscotti in years and have never made this particular recipe, but it is a winner. Golden Raisin and Pistachio Biscotti. Scented with lemon zest. I’ll dip them in white chocolate tomorrow. I think I’ll take a picture now, so that I can post it later.

Night, Night.

Leave a Reply

