February is Here

How can it be that it is already February 1? I am barely able to remember that it is 2009 and 1/12th of it is already gone.

We just got back from our first weekend of skiing. Not much snow, but what there was on the ground was exceptionally well groomed and the skiing was surprisingly good. Amazingly, we skiied from opening until closing on Saturday (well, I almost skiied until closing, but S, L & J closed the mountain) and then, today we schussed from 9-3:30 (again, I retired a bit earlier with J). I can barely walk now, so I’m going to have to think of meals for the week that will require less running around….

We have family in town on Saturday night and S & I are out to dinner on Friday night – so that is an even trade, sort of. I am also making a “snack” (AKA Lunch) for the teachers (AKA teachers and staff) at school on Wednesday for conference week ($40 budget for 40). Here is the plan for the week:

Monday – Quick Cassoulet (from an old Sunset magazine recipe), salad

Tuesday – Pasta with Shrimp and Spicy Tomato Sauce

WednesdayTurkey Matzo Ball Soup (turkey stock is in the freezer)Roasted Chicken, Romanesco, Brown Rice (I’ll make the soup next week….or maybe not)

Thursday – Quiche Lorraine (haven’t made it in ages and I have a good block of Gruyere in the fridge that isn’t getting any younger), Salad with lots of Vegetables

Friday – Leftover Delight with babysitter….

Saturday – 9 for dinner: Nibbles of some sort, Filet of Beef, Asparagus, Carrots, Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary, Chocolate birthday cake (family will bring that, so I’d better have vanilla ice cream ready)

Now that I look at the menu above, I realize that it is a little bit all over the place. Well, variety is the spice of life. It should be a lively week. I have almost everything that I need in the house, so, I won’t have to run around on these sore legs. Who am I kidding?

I’m planning on a Mediterranean snack for the teachers – a tabouleh type of salad made with whole wheat couscous, tomatoes, cucumber, parsley, chick peas, red pepper, olives, feta, lemon juice and olive oil. Plus, hummus and pitas. I may make some biscotti to have as a true snack. I’m not including pantry items in the $40, but I think I’ll come in on budget. If I have extras of the salad, it will make a good lunch for L’s lunchbox.

Leave a Reply

