Busy Week Dinners

Busy week.  S at a business dinner on Monday.  I’m out tonight.  Going to the mountains for some skiing (hoping for some decent snow) on Friday.  Nonetheless, dinner still needs to be made and eaten.  Here is my plan for the week, some of which has already been consumed:

Monday – Cauliflower Mac ‘n Cheese

Tuesday – Grilled Boneless Pork Chops (Niman Ranch), Broccoli Rabe, Mashed Butternut Squash, Orzo Pesto
Canned Organic Peaches

Wednesday – Leftover Delight: Chicken from Sunday, Broccoli from Tuesday, Rice

Thursday – Turkey Chili with Rice

Using the cheese sauce as a little bit of a foil to hide cauliflower with the pasta is always a hit. But, Monday’s Mac ‘n Cheese was one of those rush jobs that we gobbled down, but was certainly not my best effort or showing.

Last night, on the other hand, was very good and very quick – about 1/2 hour from start to finish. I took 4 boneless chops and rubbed them with a little olive oil. Then I put on some wonderful seasoning salt called Borsari and S grilled the chops to perfection. Meanwhile, I put a few pots on the stove: (1) water for the orzo, (2) water to blanch the broccoli rabe, and (3) water for the butternut squash (I cheated and bought the fresh pre-peeled/cut version). While the orzo and squash were cooking, I blanched the broccoli rabe for about 1 minute. Then drained it. Rinsed the pot, put it on the drying rack. Whipped out a big saute pan and put it on the fire, threw a little olive oil in it, sliced a garlic clove into the oil, added the broccoli rabe, some salt, black pepper and some red pepper flakes. When the squash was cooked through, I drained it, mashed it with a fork, added a little butter, salt and pepper, and a smidgeon of cinnamon. Orzo pesto is always a big hit (pesto from Trader Joe’s – one of the only prepared pestos that doesn’t have walnuts in it. It is not as good as fresh, but works well on sandwiches and last minute pastas…). With canned peaches for dessert (a real treat), I redeemed myself from Monday’s “ehhh” dinner.

Tonight, S and the girls will enjoy the chicken with proscuitto, sage and cheese from Sunday and the leftover broccoli from last night.

I’ll make my sister’s Turkey Chili for Thursday – lots of good vegetables and I added some new ones to her recipe. Something to stick to our ribs before the weekend of skiing.

Is there anything I can take that will prevent the soreness that I know awaits me after the first day of skiing? My muscle memory is as bad as my regular memory. I’m not aging gracefully. Maybe I should make some cookies to bring for apres ski…..

One thought on “Busy Week Dinners

Leave a Reply

