Rainbow Cookies

I bought these cookies for the girls before Christmas.  They reminded me of the old cookie trays that people used to bring in to work in New York around the holidays.  I had never had them as a kid, but became devoted to them as they were always the tastiest cookie on those trays.  Which brings up the question of – why did I ever try them in the first place?  Green, pink, yellow, slightly waxy chocolate coating?  Total lack of self control, that is why.  They are hard to find here in California and I hadn’t had them for years.  Nonetheless, I saved a Gourmet magazine from December 2005 that had a very good looking recipe for them.  Kind of complex though.  I forgot about it until I saw the rainbow cookies at the grocery store in December.  Only days later, the recipe appeared to rave reviews and pictures on www.smittenkitchen.com.  They are called “Seven Layer Cookies” and are made with apricot preserves in this recipe.  I’ll use raspberry preserves tomorrow, because that is what I’m used to.  Here is the link to the recipe.  Can’t wait to try it.  I’ll use Deb’s tips from her experience.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Seven-Layer-Cookies-233296

Leave a Reply

